Owen Distinguished Scholars Program

Offering students the opportunity to follow in the footsteps of a life of service and excellence.

Cary Caperton Owen Scholars are among UNC Asheville’s most serious and creative. They demonstrate a capacity for leadership and a commitment to improving the community. 

The Cary Caperton Owen Distinguished Scholars Program honors the legacy of one of North Carolina’s most active and admired community leaders and a champion of public education—Cary Caperton Owen. Mrs. Owen served on both the Buncombe County Board of Education and the Board of Commissioners and was a member of the UNC Board of Governors, the state Board of Education and the UNC Asheville Board of Trustees.

Your contributions to this unique program will encourage the next generation of scholars to follow in Mrs. Owen’s footsteps, pursuing their passion for the liberal arts and for public service that will impact our state, nation and world.

A full Cary Caperton Owen Scholarship covers eight consecutive semesters at UNC Ashevillefunding tuition, fees, and room and board. Owen Scholars participate in the Honors Program, receive a stipend for undergraduate research and have the option to study abroad.

Donors may give a gift of any size directly to the Cary Caperton Owen Distinguished Scholars Fund or may establish a named scholarship within the program with an endowment of $400,000 for in-state students or $700,000 for out-of-state students.

Your gift will make a significant difference in the life of a student and in the future of Asheville and North Carolina.

For more information, you may contact Ben Underwood, Associate Vice Chancellor for Advancement Operations, at 828.251.6016 or at bunderwo@unca.edu.