About the Author

Bestselling author, National Book Award Winner, Sir Walter Raleigh Award for Fiction Winner, Pushcart Prize nominee, NAACP Image Award nominee, and Carnegie Medals For Excellence Longlist nominee, Jason Mott has a BFA in Fiction and an MFA in Poetry, both from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. His poetry and fiction has appeared in various literary journals. Entertainment Weekly listed him as one of their 10 “New Hollywood: Next Wave” people to watch.

He is the author of two poetry collections: We Call This Thing Between Us Love and “…hide behind me…” He is the author of four novels: The Returned, The Wonder of All Things, The Crossing, and Hell Of A Book.

The Returned, Jason’s debut novel, was adapted by Brad Pitt’s production company, Plan B, in association with Brillstein Entertainment and ABC. It aired on the ABC network under the title “Resurrection.”

Jason’s fourth novel, Hell Of A Book, released in June 2021, was a Jenna Bush Hager “Read With Jenna” Book Club pick, Carnegie Medals For Excellence in Fiction Longlist selection, a 2022 Aspen Words Literary Prize Longlist selection, a 2022 Chatauqua Prize Finalist, a Joyce Carol Oates Prize Longlist selection, the 2021 Sir Walter Raleigh Prize for Fiction winner, and the winner of the 2021 National Book Award for Fiction.


Interviews with author Jason Mott:

Jason Mott Wrote One Hell of a Book by Wiley Cash

Bitter Southerner. July 2021

“Even now, I have a habit of trying to be invisible or to disappear or not to call attention to myself.”


Book Tour Blues by Wiley Cash

O. Henry Magazine. Sept. 2018

“I’m actually working on a novel right now about a writer who goes on a book tour where insane things happen.”


Jason Mott on The Today Show

July 2021

“The first draft was a comedy…it evolved into a discussion of race and identity.”